From the FIFA Laws of the Game:
A direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a player commits any of the following seven offences in a manner considered by the referee to be careless, reckless or using excessive force:
• kicks or attempts to kick an opponent
• trips or attempts to trip an opponent
• jumps at an opponent
• charges an opponent
• strikes or attempts to strike an opponent
• pushes an opponent
• tackles an opponent
A direct free kick is also awarded to the opposing team if a player commits any of the following three offences:
• holds an opponent
• spits at an opponent
• handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area)
A penalty kick is awarded if any of the above ten offences is committed by a player inside his own penalty area, irrespective of the position of the ball, provided it is in play.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
A bit more detail....
ReplyDeleteThe offense known as “handling the ball” involves deliberate contact with the ball by a player’s hand or arm
(including fingertips, or outer shoulder). “Deliberate contact” means that the player could have avoided the touch
but chose not to, that the player’s arms were not in a normal playing position at the time, or that the player
deliberately continued an initially accidental contact for the purpose of gaining an unfair advantage. Moving hands
or arms instinctively to protect the body when suddenly faced with a fast approaching ball does not constitute
deliberate contact unless there is subsequent action to direct the ball once contact is made. Likewise, placing hands
or arms to protect the body at a free kick or similar restart is not likely to produce an infringement unless there is
subsequent action to direct or control the ball. The fact that a player may benefit from the ball contacting the hand
does not transform the otherwise accidental event into an infringement [emphasis added]. A player infringes the Law
regarding handling the ball even if direct contact is avoided by holding something in the hand (clothing, shinguard,
etc.).
Here's the bit you should all take most note of...
ReplyDeleteThe Referee's decision is final, no amount of whinging will change it and when you win....who cares?
As an Englishman you learn this at birth when you Dad assures that in 1966 the ball went over the line...probably!
Absolutely agree. It's just in this case the ref didn't know what the rules are. I'm merely providing the information. Don't shoot the messenger.
ReplyDeleteDo the post 1986 english babies learn. "How did the ****ing cheating ref not see his ****ing hand."?
ReplyDeleteThat Q is for Dave D, Kev & Les.
What's the relevance of that? This isn't about querying whether the ref saw the hand ball, but whether it was deliberate. His comment to me at the time was "it doesn't matter if it was ball to hand or hand to ball - it hit his hand so its a penalty".
ReplyDeleteI presume you're referring to not being able to see Shiltons hand as he failed to punch the ball away from a shortarsed midget?
And why would Dave D care, contrary to Fergus' beliefs, he's not English! :P
It was not me, it was God. He likes me :)
ReplyDeleteI trya to teacha da argentina thisa techniqua, buta ita semmsa lika noonea believesa in f...inga goda anymorea.
ReplyDeleteWho are these people who "deliberately" handle the ball in their own box !!!!.
ReplyDeleteCricketers always handle their balls when adjusting their box?
ReplyDeleteAre you thinking what Im thinking B1?
ReplyDeleteStop patronising me B2. No I am F@#$ing not thinking what you're thinking, and I never have. Unless you're thinking "mmm three in a bed sex romp with dorothy the dinsoaur is just my cup of rosey tea..."
ReplyDeleteWho the f@&*k is calling me English, how would you like to be called a bloody sheep shagger, bloody insult to the sheep!
ReplyDeleteSimple, the ref is always wrong when your a defender, particularly if a penalty is awarded!
Social Dave